SusanMurray 2012AlexShigo crop

The International Society of Aboriculture (ISA) is now accepting nominations for its 2013 Awards of Distinction.

The International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) is a membership association for arborists and others who have involvement or interest in the tree care industry. The awards are the highest honours presented by ISA based on nominations submitted by members and industry professionals. They recognize those who have made significant contributions to arboriculture in various areas of the industry.

Categories include:

  • Award of Merit;
  • Alex L. Shigo Award for Excellence in Arboricultural Education;
  • Award of Achievement;
  • Honorary Life Membership;
  • R.W. Harris Author’s Citation;
  • L.C. Chadwick Award for Arboricultural Research;
  • Millard F. Blair Exceptional Contribution to Practical Arboriculture;
  • Early-Career Scientist Award; and
  • Honourary Membership.

Last year’s winner of the Alex L. Shigo Award for Excellence in Arboriculture Education was Susan Murray, arborist, professor, and author at Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Langley, B.C.

The nomination deadline for the awards is March 29, 2013.